Whai Māia Board

We are responsible for monitoring management processes and systems.

About us

The Whai Māia Board has seven directors, three are independent directors, three are whānau directors and one trustee representative. We also have a future director position that is filled by a hapū member. The Whai Māia Board is responsible for monitoring Whai Māia management processes and systems to assure accountability to the Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei Trust. The Whai Māia Board meets at least 10 times a year and seeks advice on matters of tikanga, kaupapa and kawa from the Taumata Kaumātua through the presence of Te Puna Tumahai at board meetings and presentations to the Taumata Kaumātua where appropriate. Our Board has a wealth of knowledge across a broad range of sectors including social, economic, financial, environmental, health and cultural advancements of communities and nations.

Te Poari o Whai Māia.

Dame Paula Rebstock – Board Chair.

Dame Paula Rebstock is one of New Zealand’s leading governance figures, who chairs ACC, Ministry for Children, Auckland DHB Audit Committee and the Vulnerable Children’s Board. She has significant experience and networks in social agencies and youth welfare.

Tama Davis – Whānau Director.

Tama’s work experience spreads over the fields of mental health and addictions (within DHB, NGOs and iwi providers) and cultural leadership on behalf of the hapū. His academic background includes Indigenous Studies and he has graduated from the University of Auckland with a postgraduate diploma in Maori Business Development. He is the Pou Arahi/Cultural Supervisor for Homecare Medical, and director at Ahikaroa Enterprises Ltd.

Sharon Hawke – Trust Representative.

This is Sharon’s second term on the Trust after a four year gap. She devotes a lot of time to working with other hapū members building our profile as mana whenua amongst other iwi and within Tāmaki Nui. She has been appointed as the Trust representative on the Whai Māia Board.

Mel Hewitson – Independent Director.

Mel Hewitson is an experienced director motivated by public involvement and giving back to New Zealanders. Mel is currently Chair of the Centre for Social Impact, Deputy Chair of Foundation North and an Independent Director of Simplicity NZ, Trust Investments Management and Heritage Trustee Company. Mel is also Chair of the Nominating Committee for the Guardians of NZ Superannuation Fund and a trustee of Auckland Foundation.

Shirley Ikkala – Whānau Director.

Shirley’s work experience has been predominately in the  fields of statutory social work, with a particular focus on tamariki Māori and whānau. Within the last 8years her social work career broadened  taking her into social work education. Shirley currently holds the position of Program Director in the  faculty of Education and Social Work at the University of Auckland.

Shirley is actively involved in providing guidance and leadership within the social work and education sector that provides a platform for Māori.

Malcolm Paterson – Whānau Director.

Malcolm Paterson is Ngāti Whātua of Ōrākei and Kaipara. Malcolm is qualified as a medical doctor as well as environmental management. Malcolm is currently the Tumuaki (Chief Executive) for Ngā Maunga Whakahii o Kaipara Ngahere Ltd (the commercial arm of the post-settlement entity focused on managing Kaipara’s interests related to its forest lands).

Hope Puriri – Whai Māia Future Director.

Hope is of Ngāti Whātua Orākei through her grandmother, Rangiaho Pūriri (nee Hiraganas). Hope is a qualified Spatial Designer, with experience in urban design, planning, cultural narrative design and built environment projects. She is working at Matakohe Architecture and Urbanism as a Spatial Designer. Hope has previously worked in local government and has experience in marae and whenua governance and, she is looking forward to further developing her governance skills during her term as a Future Director of Whai Māia.

Maruata Reweti – Whai Māia Future Director.

Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Whātua, Vaiala, Fa’atoia, Fai’a’ai, Sagone, Hamburg.

Maruata is currently the Programme Manager at TupuToa. Throughout her life and career Maruata has been focused on building capability within Māori and Pacific communities. She has experience working in Kohanga Reo, primary schools, and prior to TupuToa worked at Counties Manukau Health engaging Māori and Pacific tauira in secondary and tertiary education.  

Maruata holds a Bachelor of Arts in Māori Development and is currently undertaking post graduate studies.

Loving my time on the Whai Māia Board so far and learning from some amazing people.